Once Upon A Wolvog

Stories from the front lines

CANCER: DISEASE OR BUSINESS?

7 Comments

The grim reality of things is that each and every one of us knows at least one person that has been affected by cancer, some of whom have lost their battles and some of which have “beat” this disease, but have you every really thought about how cancer is something other than a disease?

wolvog 3.jpg

The Leukemia & Lymphona Society claims that in 2016 $49.3 MILLION was invested into research. This is one organization out of millions that exist to raise money for cancer. This is money that is dumped into the cancer world on top of whatever else is spent on treatment, medications and such.

wolvog.gif

In both Oryx & Crake and The Year of the Flood, we are exposed to the realities of big corporations creating the need for medication and treatment. It truly sickens me to think that a fiction novel could actually reflect such real issues. At the end of the day everyone wants a couple of extra dollars in their pockets, and if that will only happen as a result of ripping someone off then so be it. I’m not here to say that cancer is fake and that it is only something that has been fabricated with the intentions to make money, but on the other hand, I do believe that there are some things that are not adding up. According to Bigthink.com, since 1971 $500 billion dollars has been put into the “War on Cancer”, but still there has been so significant advancement for treatment or even a mere cure. The most common options given to those with cancer are Chemotherapy, or pump yourself up with drugs with the hopes that you’ll get better.

pills.jpg

Is this not ringing a bell? Are we not making some concrete connections? Diseases were created in the book in order to sell medication that would “cure” patients. I’m sure many of us can wind back the clock to a couple of years back to the Swine Flu. I sure do, I remember the panic that surrounded the whole epidemic. I remember my parents being afraid to send me to school, I remember that painful vaccination I was given, and then after a couple of months I don’t remember hearing anything about it.

giphy.gif

Remembering that everything we hear must be taken with a grain of salt, I explore this “conspiracy” or idea to merely open the floor to the possibility that the world that the novel presents us isn’t so far away from the world we’re currently living in.

 

 

Sources:

-https://www.lls.org/who-we-are/financials (Leukemia & Lymphoma Stats)

-https://www.tenor.co/view/financial-spending-classes-before-money-gif-3547985 (The Office gif)

-http://bigthink.com/devil-in-the-data/the-never-ending-war-on-cancer (Cancer Stats)

-https://www.popsugar.com/tech/What-Roll-Safe-Thinking-Meme-43122009 (Thinking Meme)

-http://www.medicaldaily.com/generic-pill-size-and-shape-could-determine-whether-patient-will-adhere-medication-regimen-292958 (Pills Photo)

-http://giphy.com/gifs/homer-simpson-the-simpsons-bush-4pMX5rJ4PYAEM (Homer Simpson Disappearing)

 

 

7 thoughts on “CANCER: DISEASE OR BUSINESS?

  1. Nice post! I actually think you are bringing up a really important issue. I think it is very visible that people’s health is used for profit. While I don’t think corporations are at the point of fabricating diseases and sicknesses to sell the related medicine, I do think that they are over pricing current medications. Just not too long ago, there was this whole situation where a man named Martin Shkreli raised the price of epi-pens to some exorbitant amount. I am sure this is not the only cases of overpricing medication to make as much profit as possible. The problem with medical corporations is that they don’t see people as people. They see people as dollar signs. People should be made more aware of this kind of thing so something can be done about it.

    Like

  2. It’s funny that you say that because that’s also crossed my mind. It is pretty sickening to see that our world has come to this point where big pharmaceutical companies have that much power and money to not only put a price on our health but also take advantage of all the money that’s coming in to find a cure for this terrible disease. I feel that maybe they have already found a cure and that because there is so much money coming in they choose not to stop and instead keep everyone in the dark. I would also have to say that medical corporations also go hand in hand with politicians and who knows what they are brewing and what good and bad they have in store for us.

    Like

  3. I agree with you, the little advancement in cancer research is very suspicious. I read a conspiracy theory a while back that was similar to this, and it explained that the money invested into this went straight into the pockets of corporations, while they’ve been hiding the cure all along. As crazy as that sounds, I don’t think it’s impossible especially with, as you mentioned, the amount of money invested in cancer research. I think that because treatment for cancer is monetized, this part of the medical world should be more closely looked into.

    Like

  4. Really interesting! You do make some really good points and I have to agree with you. I have to say I do believe that somewhere out there in the world, there is a cure for cancer. If anything, scientists have already found it. But, because medication is so damn expensive, it’s all a money making industry. It amazes me how some people don’t realize that all this industry wants is their money. They don’t understand that there may be other options out there to help them but they choose to pay for, as you said, chemotherapy or any other medication that doesn’t seem to make a difference.

    Like

  5. First off, I want to say that I really enjoyed reading your post and it was written very well! This is a really hard topic to think about. To think that people would poison millions of people and along the kill, a pretty good amount of people along the way is just so disheartening.

    Your point about the swine flu has me thinking quite a lot as well. If I remember correctly my school actually shut down for a few days because an abnormal amount of kids got sick and the school became a location to receive the vaccine. It scares me to think that I possibly had a virus in me that was man made and designed for profit.

    Like

  6. I hate that I am agreeing to this issue, it’s a sad reality that most of us have dealt with. I have 2 family members that battled with cancer, but they weren’t the lucky ones to get out of it. It hurts just to even imagine the possibility of postponing the discovery of the disease or just hiding it to make the extra dollars. I do understand though that companies do have to raise the price for a cure in the beginning to cover costs, but most companies do not reduce them when they reached their break even point. I find it hard to believe that they didn’t find a ‘’real’’ cure for cancer. All these foundations that raise money for the cause, they know we will donate or participate because we have been touched by it somehow and they know we will do anything to help. They are laughing all the way to the bank…

    Like

  7. Interesting post- although I’m not sure I’m 100% in agreement. To agree, there are cures that exist for certain diseases that aren’t available to the public. Take for example the lyme disease vaccine: it was developed, but never went to market, but this was because it happened around the time when the anti-vaxxer fad was picking up steam. Thus, the company didn’t think it would generate profit. You are very right that the drug industry is very corporate and monetized, and that is a big issue. I would like to disagree however on your assertion that a cure for cancer exists somewhere. Researchers themselves don’t embezzle money and are very dedicated to finding a cure; and indeed they’ve advanced treatment quite a bit. The reason they haven’t found a “cure” is because cancer doesn’t work like many other diseases, particularly viruses. It’s unique to each person, it comes from many different sources, and it presents itself in a multitude of ways. It all comes down to preventing your cells from mutating and reproducing uncontrollably, but controlling billions of cells within one body, at the fundamental level no less, is very difficult.

    Like

Leave a Reply

